Board info:
  • No birthdays today
  • In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest
  • It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:36 am

new comp

A public forum to discuss anything

new comp

Postby morlox » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:06 am

any advice will be much appreciated, going to order tomorrow or wednesday as my comp is currently dead:

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler
Motherboard: Intel DZ77GA70K ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Storage: Corsair Neutron Series GTX 240GB 2.5" SSD
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 670 4GB Video Card
Wireless Network Adapter: Rosewill N900PCE 802.11a/b/g/n
Case: Antec Twelve Hundred V3 ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply: Corsair Professional 750W 80 PLUS Gold Certified
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B3ST/BLK/G/AS DVD/CD Writer
OS: Microsoft Windows 8 (OEM) (64-bit)
Monitor: Dell U2312HM 23.0" Monitor

as always i have dbld my original budget, but am ok with it, the only things i have thought of changing was possibly getting an i5 (only saves 100$) and i did change from 32gb mem to 16 (saves ~125), just not sure i would ever need 32 gb.

let me know if you have any suggestions or in general about these choices or you have better alternatives.

i am just going to order it all on newegg even though a few pieces are slightly cheaper on amazon, i would just rather have one bill in case something happens.


thanks,
mor
morlox
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: new comp

Postby Hyraxx » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:12 am

Unless you are planning to overclock the CPU you don't need the aftermarket HSF. The one included with the CPU is more than enough(it's also very quiet, I have that same CPU). This is assuming you are getting the retail box CPU with the HSF included and not an OEM one.
User avatar
Hyraxx
IceClan Invite
IceClan Invite
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 6:56 am
Location: NJ

Re: new comp

Postby Equis » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:09 pm

Looks good. I'd stick with the i7.
16GB is plenty even for the foreseeable future.

Stay away from Win8 if you can. It would be a shame if you have to pay for that OS because I guarantee you will install Win7.

If you are trying to shave $$ you can get a smaller SSD. Unless you install a lot of games and play them all at once, you don't need more than 150GB. I have 240 I think and have a lot of room left with probably 5+ games installed that I'm not playing.
User avatar
Equis
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 2785
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:09 am

Re: new comp

Postby Hyraxx » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:34 pm

Equis wrote:
Stay away from Win8 if you can. It would be a shame if you have to pay for that OS because I guarantee you will install Win7.


I have Win8 on my work laptop and honestly, once I installed a start menu replacement app so that I never have to see the Metro UI or Modern UI or whatever they call it, it is actually a decent OS. Getting one of the many start menu replacement applications is an absolute must though.
User avatar
Hyraxx
IceClan Invite
IceClan Invite
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 6:56 am
Location: NJ

Re: new comp

Postby morlox » Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:35 pm

thanks for the input, i have decided to not overclock so i dont need the added fan and i don't need the k processor saves 150 and i am getting a 1tb sata to go with a 120 ssd instead of the 240 ssd.

i will prolly go with windows 7, i hate win8, will decide in the morning.

-mor
morlox
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: new comp

Postby Enirevlow » Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:47 pm

morlox wrote:
thanks for the input, i have decided to not overclock so i dont need the added fan and i don't need the k processor saves 150 and i am getting a 1tb sata to go with a 120 ssd instead of the 240 ssd.

i will prolly go with windows 7, i hate win8, will decide in the morning.

-mor


I like all the savings choices now drop to the i5 and get a 27inch monitor :)
Enirevlow
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:50 pm

Re: new comp

Postby Kezix » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:20 am

If you want to save a chunk of money on the processor order that from Microcenter.com

You could probably get all that stuff from microcenter if you wanted to, can order it all online and they generally match newegg prices.
You can save a lot on the CPU from microcenter at least... those are always cheaper there, sometimes by $100.
User avatar
Kezix
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 2968
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Kansas

Re: new comp

Postby Equis » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:10 am

Hyraxx wrote:
Equis wrote:
Stay away from Win8 if you can. It would be a shame if you have to pay for that OS because I guarantee you will install Win7.


I have Win8 on my work laptop and honestly, once I installed a start menu replacement app so that I never have to see the Metro UI or Modern UI or whatever they call it, it is actually a decent OS. Getting one of the many start menu replacement applications is an absolute must though.


So, if you turn Win8 into Win7 its OK? I have one of those apps and while it makes the OS usable it is pretty process expensive.
User avatar
Equis
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 2785
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:09 am

Re: new comp

Postby Cerb » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:52 am

I would suggest getting a platter drive as well. (old fashioned 7200 RPM drive) for large storage.. Pictures, music etc. Don't clog your SSD with that because the SSD life depending on how hard you use it will only last 3-5 years before it starts to crap out.

The larger the SSD, and the less you put on it, will make it last longer. A 240 with 60 gigs of stuff will last twice as long as a 120 with 60 gigs of stuff due to cell write operations. Monitor the SMART settings (your SSD will come with a tool, or you can download a tool that looks at it).

I have 17 machines with SSD's as primary drives and have had 4 needing replacement after 2.5 years. Granted, we are hard on the machines and they have 98% up time.
User avatar
Cerb
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 1419
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:40 am

Re: new comp

Postby Dies » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:36 pm

you can do this for storage which is a pretty sick price

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136749

for $100 a 3tb western digital green drive(that's what's inside the enclosure) sale ends tomorrow

Just snag it out of its enclosure and toss it inside the PC case I've personally had problems with drives as externals on multiple drives and new and old but drives were fine putting them in the pc.
Dies
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 1357
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 3:46 pm
Location: Brew Town

Re: new comp

Postby Raefin » Sat Jul 06, 2013 9:10 pm

Wow Morly. I actually have to do a new compy too at the moment and am looking at some of the same things you are looking at. Although you may want to look at the i7 Haswell offerings at about the same price points for the same speed as the one you are looking at.
Raefin
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 3:46 pm
Location: Miami, Florida

Re: new comp

Postby Raefin » Sat Jul 06, 2013 9:21 pm

Also just looked at your motherboard and aren't you getting the wrong socket type? I think it requires an 1150 not an 1155.
Raefin
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 3:46 pm
Location: Miami, Florida

Re: new comp

Postby morlox » Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:51 pm

when i lchecked the 1155 was what i was supposed to get, i know the 1150 is the *new version* of the 1155, so tehy should both work i suppose, but the specs i looked at on the processer said 1155.

hopefully it all works i know its a gamble as in wheter everything will work without an rmas but im hoping.

-mor
morlox
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:26 pm

Re: new comp

Postby Enirevlow » Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:12 am

Raefin wrote:
Also just looked at your motherboard and aren't you getting the wrong socket type? I think it requires an 1150 not an 1155.



no no hes got the right mb for that cpu. you've been browsing over the new ones that use socket lga1150.
Enirevlow
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:50 pm

Re: new comp

Postby Equis » Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:07 am

I didn't bother putting a platter in my new computer. Instead I just have a large NAS drive that all my computers can share.
User avatar
Equis
IceClan Member
IceClan Member
 
Posts: 2785
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:09 am

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Who is online In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 162 on Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:52 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest